投資者常見問題

投資者常見問題

本公司高度重視產品開發。我們以自有品牌「Peplink」及「Pepwave」設計了一系列實用且創新的網絡產品。透過於世界不同地區超過500個的分銷商、代理商、系統整合商 (由獨立第三方組成),為最終用戶提供銷售及支援服務。我們亦與世界級的合約製造商合作,生產我們的產品。

儘管大多數SD-WAN初創公司都專注於市場規模較大但應用相對單一的企業SD-WAN市場,我們將重點放在工業SD-WAN市場當中包括運輸、海事、公共安全、廣播和無人系統。工業SD-WAN市場雖然分散,但充滿著長尾商機。我們主攻這個市場,是由於其產品生命週期較長和進入門檻較高 ― 需要符合認證要求(如衝擊振動、電磁干擾和環境因素)及掌握行業技術訣竅。另外,由於我們的產品能夠提供可靠的網路連接,在市場上已贏得一群忠實的客戶。在許多工業應用中,我們暫時還未看到有直接的競爭對手。

我們重點關注工業SD-WAN,但這並不代表我們會忽略企業SD-WAN市場。我們的市場定位為市場領導者,為企業客戶附加價值。除了價格外,我們的產品亦非常易用,無需技術精湛的IT專業人員也可進行安裝和支援。

跟15年前的企業Wi-Fi市場一樣,SD-WAN市場現正起飛。我們看到最終客戶開始意識到此科技的價值。大型的網絡運營商(如Cisco) 已完成了一連串SD-WAN初創公司的收購行動。這進一步驗證了SD-WAN並不是科技炒作,而是真正的科技趨勢。

我們的SpeedFusion技術實現了過去在經濟或技術上不可能的應用,包括高清直播和實時監控。往後,物聯網將會帶動裝置與裝置間通訊及無線互聯網連接的需求。被嵌入SpeedFusion技術的 Peplink 和 Pepwave 產品能有效地提供解決方案。用戶可以將不同網路(DSL、光纖、3G / 4G、衛星等等)的寬帶合併,形成牢不可破的連接。此外,我們也為物聯網應用開發新產品。所有的產品都可以通過雲端輕鬆管理。這都是未來五年的市場驅動因素。

通訊科技正不斷發展。不久以前,網絡從2G變成3G,然後從3G變成4G。每個階段的升級都會為更換設備帶來商機。科技應用方面,越來越多互聯網用戶依賴雲端技術來提高生產力,用戶影片及圖像的解像度要求也越來越。這促使著他們提高對路由器的需求。

除了銷售產品外,提供保修與支援服務及雲端服務也是我們的戰略重點之一。我們亦透過認購軟件許可,讓售後產品可於日後升級功能

我們的專有技術受到專利的保謢,也展現了我們的強大研發能力。目前,我們已獲得33項專利,並提交了超過100份的專利申請。

部分主要風險包括:

  1. 無法吸納及保留有才能的員工由於業務以研發為主,為吸納及保留人才,我們實施了僱員認股權計劃。
  2. 不能緊貼日新月異的科技。如果未能及時研發出新的產品及服務,我們將無法領導市場,淪為市場參與者。為了解我們是否處於領導位置,我們在總部全面使用自家的SD-WAN產品及虛擬專用網絡 (VPN),亦會從全球的分銷商和合作夥伴中獲得功能需求及反饋。
  3. 專利流氓。在高科技行業中,專利流氓是難以避免的。不過,作為非美國實體企業,美國同行相比我們承受較少的風險。
  4. 台灣發生嚴重的自然災害。我們四家主要的合約製造商中,有三家位於台灣、一家位於中國大陸。
  5. 重要零件短缺。我們已在英特爾、高通及博通的平台建立帳戶。只是,若出現零件短缺而阻礙生產,或會使客戶轉投其他競爭對手。

自2018年4月份開始,美國貿易代表針對一連串的中國進口商品徵收10-25%的貿易關稅。根據我們的評估,我們的軟件定義廣域網(SD-WAN)路由器被包括在HS 8517 – 路由器内,並在2018年9月24日開始需要加徵10%的關稅。此項關稅將於2019年1月1日增加至25%。

珩灣科技過去僅將生産外判予台灣的合約製造商。2016年,我們開始將中低端軟件定義之廣域網(SD-WAN)路由器的生產分配給台資擁有的國内工廠,以降低成本及分散台灣供應鏈中斷的風險。建議的關稅將會影響我們外銷美國的中國製商品,但我們認為上述關稅對我們財務的影響不大。 

首先,自2017年起,我們部分的產品已分別於中國及台灣同步生產。因此,我們可以靈活調配於台灣生產進口美國的商品;於中國生產非進口美國的商品。 

此外,作為我們不斷提高競爭力的一部分,我們一直擴大我們在台灣的採購團隊,透過他們對採購策略及成本優化的資深經驗,我們看到這方面取得了穩步進展,這也將有助減輕任何由關稅引致的額外成本。

總括而言,這次加徵10%關稅對我們的影響輕微。我們會繼續留意貿易戰的發展,並採取適當措施,盡量減少任何影響。我們的長期基本面仍然穩健,我們會將每一項挑戰都轉化為改善營運的機會。

我們採用了輕資產營運模式,主要的投資環節在研發、工程相關資源、庫存重要零件或部件(為確保穩定供應)。已計劃的發展藍圖中,並沒有重大投資項目於物料資產上。我們將繼續透過派發股息以回報股東。

私隱政策聲明 | © 2019 珩灣科技版權所有

Investor FAQs

Investor FAQs

Plover Bay Technologies develops software-defined wide area network (SD-WAN) routers for businesses. Our products are marketed under the brand names of Peplink (Wired SD-WAN routers) and Pepwave (Wireless SD-WAN routers) to value-added distributors, resellers, integrators and network service providers, who in turn provide turnkey solutions and support to end customers. Production of our network equipment is fully outsourced to third party manufacturers based in Taiwan.

Our SD-WAN routers are fully integrated with our self-developed cloud management tool allowing end users to easily manage network policies for multiple network branches. These functionalities are available to end users for free upon purchase of our SD-WAN routers and continue to be available 

Most SD-WAN vendors focus on the Wired SD-WAN market, where the addressable market includes network infrastructures of enterprises and organizations. This market is fast growing as companies are quickly replacing traditional WAN equipment with SD-WAN equipment, but is highly competitive with global leaders such as Cisco on one spectrum, and numerous new entrants such as firewall players and WAN optimization vendors trying to incorporating SD-WAN into their products.

We instead pioneer in Wireless SD-WAN technologies that enable new applications in Transportation, Maritime, Public Safety, Retail, Broadcasting, Unmanned Systems and other specialized applications. These verticals represent new markets in their early stages and are expected to grow as companies seek to increase mobility and productivity (e.g. on demand mobile connectivity with enterprise resources and security for a temporary event) and “smartify” mobile assets (e.g. vehicles, broadcast cameras, with wireless connectivity in order to gather data for analytics, asset tracking, save cost, enhance security, and so on.)

Compared to Wired SD-WAN, the Wireless SD-WAN market also has a higher entry barrier due to certification requirements with various telecom operators located in different countries. Different market verticals also have unique product requirements such as vibration resistance and ignition-sensing capabilities in Transport and waterproofing in Maritime. While these markets tend to be quite fragmented, but still require considerable investments in R&D and time. Therefore, there are currently only a few small to medium sized players in this market.

The SD-WAN market is now taking off just like Enterprise Wi-Fi market back in 15 years ago. We see that end customers are beginning to see the value proposition of the technology. Larger incumbent networking players like Cisco has completed a number of acquisitions of SD-WAN startups, further validating that SD-WAN is indeed not another technology hype but a real technology trend.

Our SpeedFusion technology enables new use cases that were financially or technically infeasible in the past. These applications include live HD livestreaming and surveillance. Further down the road, Internet of Things will drive an increase in the need for reliable and mission critical connectivity. Our SpeedFusion technology embedded in every Peplink and Pepwave product is ideal in solving connectivity problem as users are able to combine any links (DSL, fiber, 3G/4G, satellite, and more) to form unbreakable connections anywhere. We are also developing new products with practical uses in IoT applications. All our products are easily managed through the cloud. These will be our growth drivers over the next five years.

Communication technologies are constantly evolving. Not long ago, our networks transformed from 2G to 3G, then from 3G to 4G. Each major network upgrade brings opportunities in product refresh. Moreover, the need for bandwidth continues to grow as internet users increasingly rely on cloud for productivity and the standard of video and pictures move up to higher resolutions and this in turn drive upgrades for high-throughput routers.

In additional to product revenue, we have a strategic focus in growing the product warranty revenue and cloud service subscriptions. Another key area of growth would be software licenses to enable new features on our installation base.

Our patent strategy is to defend our technology as well as visualizing our R&D capability. Currently we have been awarded 33 patents and we have filed another 100+ applications.

Key risks to our company include:

  1. Inability to attract and retain talented employees – Our business is R&D focused and in order to attract and retain talents we have implemented a share option program.
  2. Failing in catching up the product upgrade cycle. If we are slow in developing next generation products, we might not be leading the market and become a “me too” commodity player. We run our own SD-WAN products entirely in our headquarters as well as our global VPN networks. Our VADs and global technology partners also provide valuable product feedback and feature requests. Through these, we learn where we are leading and what we are lagging
  3. Patent Trolls. We understand in the technology business, patent trolls would be difficult to avoid. However, being a non-US entity should allow us to be less risky as our US peers.
  4. Severe natural disaster in Taiwan. Three out of four of our key contract manufacturers are based in Taiwan. Only one contract manufacturer is manufactured in mainland China.
  5. Shortage of key components. We have our platforms based on Intel, Qualcomm, Broadcom. But if there is a shortage of key components, we might not be able to meet the market demand and lose business to competitors.

Since April 2018, the U.S. Trade Representative has subjected a large list of goods imported from China to trade tariffs. We identify that SD-WAN routers (included in Routers under HS code 8517) were subject to trade tariffs of 10% starting from 24 September 2018. The tariffs were scheduled to rise to 25% from 1 January 2019 onwards, but its implementation was postponed until 10 May 2019 due to negotiations between China and the U.S.

Plover Bay Technologies has solely used contract manufacturers from Taiwan in the past. In 2016, we began to allocate a portion of our production (mainly low to mid-end SD-WAN routers) to a PRC manufacturer owned by a Taiwanese company for cost reduction and diversification against supply chain risks and disruptions in Taiwan.

Since 2017, we began parallel production in both the PRC and Taiwan for some of our products. Therefore, we have the flexibility to shift the manufacturing of US-specific models from the PRC manufacturer to other Taiwanese counterparts, while shifting non-US models to the PRC manufacturer.

As a result of our internal assessment of the PRC manufacturer as well as the increasing trade tension between China and the U.S. at the prevailing time, we made the decision to reallocate a majority of our manufacturing and sourcing back to Taiwan in 2Q2018 with small specialized orders and sample production remaining in the PRC. The reallocation has been successful and largely concluded by 1Q2019, and the Company foresees minimal financial impact due to rising tariffs going forward.

We will continue to monitor the ongoing development of the trade war and take appropriate measures to minimize any impact. Our long term fundamentals remain sound and we strive to turn every challenge into an opportunity to improve our operations.

Since we have an asset light business model, our major investment would be R&D, engineering resources and stocking of key components and parts for a stable supply. We do not expect any material capital investment requirements in the foreseeable future. We will continue to return capital to shareholders via our dividend payment arrangement.

© 2019 Plover Bay. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy.